Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Cardinals Marching On (Cancer, Capricorn, Libra and Aries)

By Patricia Herlevi
Do you have your sun, moon, or Rising Sign in a Cardinal Sign? Do you have several planets in a Cardinal Sign? If you answer yes to any of these questions, then welcome to the Cardinal tribe. You are on the planet to usher in changes, but first, you must face your fears.

What does Cardinal energy represent? Think of seasons bursting forth throughout the year. Think of the Solstices and Equinoxes. Think of the power of the moon, the structures Saturn builds, the assertiveness of Mars, and the balancing act of Venus. Cardinal energy also represents the four directions and where we ultimately point our compass. Cardinal energy initiates change, but then the Mutable Signs take it from there and continue the changes until they reach a culmination point, at which time, the Fixed Signs stabilize the new structures.

Think of analog photography. The photographer took a photograph by shining light onto negatives. Then the photographer processed the film which created negatives. He or she used a chemical process that developed the negatives which were later used to make prints. Prints are developed in a series of chemicals which end with fixing the chemicals on the paper. This is how the qualities of Cardinal, Mutable, and Fixed work with astrology.

Aries is the first Cardinal Sign to appear on the Zodiac Wheel. And some astrologers start the new year, not on January 1, but on the Spring Equinox when the sun moves into Aries. Some astrologers wait until the sun moves into Taurus. When the sun moves into Aries, at least in the northern hemisphere, we see the first buddings of spring. In some parts of the world, we see a burst of green. Spring is often represented by baby animals, rebirth, and of course, religious and pagan celebrations representing new life.

photography by Patricia Herlevi
Out of the four Cardinal Signs, Aries ruled by Mars is seen as aggressive. While Aries gets a lot of credit for this pushiness and even aggressiveness thanks to Mars, all Cardinal Signs are pushy, including delicate Cancer and sweet Libra. Each sign has light and shadow. And each sign contains its opposite sign's qualities. So that delicate Cancer is also a Capricorn career-climber. And that Libra is also a weekend warrior.

The big lesson with the Cardinal Signs is to face one's fears. Aries brings courage but this doesn't mean that Aries doesn't have any fears. Libra represents balance, but many Libras are on the planet to learn how to have harmonious relationships. Capricorns came here to overcome obstacles through surrender and not by enlisting more determination and will-power. Cancer came here to act as their own mother. And if they had complicated relationships with their birth mothers, they must heal the wounds sustained from those relationships.

People with prominent Cardinal Signs in their Natal Charts are natural leaders. However, we're not talking about the old leadership models. Cardinal Signs must lead by example. This means that the Saturn lessons of integrity, the moon's lessons of self-reflection (without turning into a narcissist), Venus' lessons of balance and harmony, and Mar's lessons of assertiveness and standing up for his or herself, must be integrated. Then, and only then, do we become true leaders who rule by fairness.

While it might seem like a generalization to say that men or people with dominant male energy do better with Fire and Air Signs and those of us who embody feminine energies work better with Water and Earth energies, this isn't always the case. However, I've seen more men than not struggle with Cancer and Capricorn. And I've seen more women struggle with Aries or Mars energy. Oddly, Libra, a male sign rules Venus, a female planet. I have seen Libra men suffer from passive-aggressive tendencies and have trouble making decisions. And remember a strong leader must make decisions on a regular basis. Thankfully, Aries represents the flip side of Libra.

photography by Patricia Herlevi
So the best way to work with Cardinal energies is to make friends with the moon, Mars, Saturn, and Venus. We all love Venus and what this planet bestows on us. Who doesn't want to feel like they're starring in a Jane Austen novel or hanging out at social events observing the protocol of others? But we also must master Saturn which revolves around taking responsibility, practicing integrity, and building solid structures which requires patience.

And we must temper Mar's hotheaded energy and channel it into launching products or mustering courage to set proper boundaries. Mars is more about saying "no" than yes. And then even moon-gazers realize the powerful emotions that the moon evokes in us. People with a little grasp of the moon's energy, often end up dealing with substance or alcohol abuse. Or they end up suffering from neuroses such as dissociation or anger management issues.

So here is the breakdown of the Cardinal Signs with elements.

Aries is represented by Fire and rules Mars.
Cancer is represented by Water and rules the moon.
Libra is represented by Air and rules Venus.
Capricorn is represented by Earth and rules Saturn.

Currently, three outer planets are transiting in Cardinal Signs. Pluto is in Capricorn, Uranus is in Aries and Jupiter is in Libra. In 2016 and 2017, Jupiter opposes Uranus which can lead to interesting and unexpected manifestations that ultimately leads to social justice.

If you would like to learn more about the energies in your Natal Chart, sign up for a personal reading. I also give card readings and channeled sessions by Skype or MP3s. 

No comments:

Post a Comment